As summer approaches, more and more people are taking to trails throughout West Virginia to enjoy their All Terrain Vehicles (ATV). While ATV’s are a source of enjoyment for many throughout the Mountain State, unauthorized use of ATV’s can lead to serious injury or death. That’s why the state legislature has implemented laws regarding ATV use in West Virginia. If you are going to be riding an ATV this summer, be sure to know the laws and regulations regarding ATV usage.
This is especially true for West Virginia’s teenage drivers. No one may operate an ATV With a passenger under the age of eighteen, unless the operator has at a minimum a level two intermediate driver’s license or its equivalent or is eighteen years of age or older.
Also, an ATV is meant to operate at speeds of 25MPH or less.
The American Association of Pediatrics recommends that the US. Consumer Product Safety Commission “reject the manufacture of a transitional, 'youth model' ATV for 14- to 16-year-olds that is capable of traveling at speeds up to 38 miles per hour. James Perrin, president of the AAP, went a bit further, saying that “Children are not developmentally capable of operating these heavy, complex machines. The American Academy of Pediatrics warns all parents that no child under the age of 16 should drive or ride an ATV.”
The Masters Law Firm of Charleston West Virginia wants you to stay safe on ATV’s and other 4-wheelers this spring and summer. If you need their assistance please call them at 1-800-342-3106.